What’s the difference between Disable Mailbox and Mailbox Zap in Enterprise Vault?

The difference between disable mailbox and mailbox zap in Enterprise Vault is one leaves the metadata in the mailbox untouched and the other one removes it.

Basically during a disable mailbox operations, you configure the mailbox archiving status in the database to “do not archive anymore”. This leaves all metadata in place, such as custom policies and hidden messages.

A mailbox ZAP operations on the other hand will delete all hidden messages, folder archiving rules and so on. If the mailbox has not been disabled, the mailbox metadata will be redistributed by Enterprise Vault and archiving can continue.

Most of the times a ZAP operation will be performed when:

  1. You are moving away from Enterprise Vault and you are cleaning up the configuration;
  2. You are performing troubleshooting and you need a clean mailbox;
  3. A user left the company and you want to archive everything in his mailbox regardless if he has custom rules in place.

The procedure to ZAP a mailbox can be found here. In case you want to ZAP the permissions on the folder structure of the mailbox, another procedure can be found here.

It’s also possible to delete the hidden messages from within the Enterprise Vault Add-In section of Microsoft Outlook. A registry key needs to be created to activate the button:

  1. Open the registry and navigate to “HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\KVS\Enterprise Vault\Client” for 32-bit software installations and “HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wow6432node\KVS\Enterprise Vault\Client” for 64-bit software installations.
  2. Create a new DWORD and call it “DeleteHiddenMsgBtnVisible”. Give it the value “1”.
  3. Now restart Outlook and go to “File > Enterprise Vault > Additional Support Information”.

Leave a Reply